';

Reviews

We love to hear your feedback

Please help us by telling us what you loved, or what you thought might be improved, about our lodges in the hills.

delimiter image

It is important for us to hear your views after your stay at one of our three self-catering homes on Letterewe. Please take a moment to give us some feedback in order to allow us to offer the best possible experience here in Wester Ross. Below you will see reviews from some of our previous guests – whether fishermen, climbers, families or newly-married couples.

We value your opinion

FEEDBACK
  • When you submit your review, it will be checked by our team.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Please contact us with any questions.

CONTACT INFO

Please feel free to call or email Barbara MacDonald, our estate manager, if you would like more information on any of the lodges, and to check availability or make special requests.

Contact address: Letterewe, Loch Maree, Achnasheen, Ross-shire IV22 2HH, Scotland

Phone: +44 1445 760 207

Email: barbara@letterewe-estate.com

Read what our guests say about us
Thank you Letterewe for an amazing week, the estate is fantastic and the whole family have thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Jumping into the loch being the kids highlight. Thanks to all the staff for being so helpful and cheerful, an amazing team working in an incredible place. We hope to visit again soon, many thanks,
Family Petrie, Mackenzie and Stewart

4-11 August 2019
A fantastic place to celebrate my final Munro, we all had a fantastic time.
Andy Mac, Crosby

DATUM
What a wonderful week with family & friends in a place I am lucky to have so many connections with. After 27 years visiting Carnmore, & several holidays at Ardlair, it was a huge treat to spend a week at Letterewe Lodge. Many thanks to Alicia and Melle for making it possible and to the brilliant team at Letterewe, especially Tina & Nigel for all their help. The weather could have been kinder, but these hills have their own special magic when the burns are pouring into Maree, and wet walkers & fishermen return home to great company & a welcoming fire. Highlights of an unforgettable week – a great night of craic & laughter with Barbara & Arthur; novice fisherman Matt catching the biggest fish of the week; and finally experiencing incredible Garbhaig!
Auslan & family/friends

July 2019
The day of our wedding (June 21) was beautiful. Everything, the place, the people, the nature was more than perfect. The stunning surroundings and the gorgeous lodge. We (Lillian and Henk) konden alleen maar dromen van zo’n mooie plek op aarde, alles zat ook mee. We gaan er alles aan doen om hier terug te komen met onze families (misschien Kerst). From the bottom of our hearts, bedankt.<br />
Lillian & Henk

18-23 June 2019
There are no words to describe this perfection: kindness, loving, home, sweet, welcoming, beauty, fairy-tale, best food ever. Always a place in our hearts and memories. Love to you all.
GEEN NAAM

GEEN DATUM
A big thank you, Tina, Nigel, Paula, Rory, Paul and special thanks to our cook Greig, Alex & lovely Paula. Barbara for being there for us helping our way to find the right people. This time and days have brought our families together. Magnificent, magical, Smiles + happy tears and good stories and fun.
Hoed family

18-23 June 2019
Dear Letterewe team, You have been so good to all of us!
Hendrikse family

18-23 June 2019
This is the 2nd time I’ve catered for a week at Letterewe Lodge and it has been as enjoyable as ever! This time a wedding party of 22 people. I have a happy reputation of bringing a “boat load” of equipment, but for myself it allows me to push the boat out and cook fresh quality food at the lodge for all to experience an abundance of Scottish produce. The Letterewe permanent staff are exceptional to make the estate feel like home.
Greig Wilding - www.thehighlandkitchen.com

18-23 June 2019
A second working experience here at Letterewe. What a joy it has been to work alongside Greig and his team. This wedding has been a magical 4 days, the families have been awesome and Greig’s food sublime. The perfect venue for any special “life event”, but only if Greig cooks !
Rockstar Chef in the Highlands

18-23 June 2019
What a wonderful and amazing week at Letterewe and nothing a disappointment. Not even the mixed weather fortunes can alter the spectacular landscape and beautiful lodge. Thanks to Nigel, Tina, Paul and Paula for all their help and making us feel so welcome. It has been a birthday to remember. We will be back. Thank you. Thank you.
Brew family

May 2019
Thank you to the wonderful team at Letterewe for a most excellent 4 days. Everything is so stunning, the house, the setting, the scenery and of course the location. We have done most things in moderation with the exception of talking, eating, drinking and of course walking – the horns of Alligin will go down in folklore for so many reasons. Thank you all so much – hopefully we will be back again soon.
The Marsh party

May 2019
Dear Team of Letterewe, Too many superlatives for the wonderful house and estate of Letterewe – what a setting, what a history, what a wilderness ! As a group of 6 Dutch business people, their natural leadership coach and myself (mountain guide), Letterewe fitted everything we needed for our 4 day stay in what can only be described as one of the most unique settings/accommodations in Scotland. All the staff, each and every one of you, were just outstanding from the start of our visit and made us all exceedingly welcome and comfortable. Many thanks Tina, Nigel, Rory and Paula for going the extra ride and ensuring that our stay at Letterewe was a truly memorable one – to be treasured for the rest of our lives.<br />
GEEN NAAM

April 2019
Wonderful place! Accommodation is perfect, the staff have been superbly friendly and professional and above all very helpful. And the most exceptional landscape in Scotland. Haste me back!!
Gerry, Edinburgh

DATUM
Just fabulous! This has been an amazing place to stay. Beautiful surroundings, amazing views. So much to see and do. Walking and running has been great fun – don’t think I’d ever feel ready to leave, but alas we must go home! Staff have all been so friendly and nothing too much. Thank you so much for such a wonderful time. Some wonderful memories.
Haverly family

August 2019
Thank you for looking after us the other week. We had a great time as always and it was time to go home again when we just started to relax! Andrew, Rory and Paula were super especially on NY's eve helping out with the water situation etc.
Hannah & Jonny

December 2018
Een geweldig prachtige ervaring vol gezelligheid en plezier. Graag wil ik jullie bedanken voor het beschikbaar maken van dit prachtige landgoed. In het donker opgehaald worden door een prachtig scheepje en dan aankomen op ‘Letterewe’ is werkelijk adembenemend, zeker als je geen idee hebt waar de reis zal eindigen. De volgende dag genoten van een prachtige wandeltocht naar “Carnmore’ met onderweg veel natuur en prachtige vergezichten. De karakteristieke verblijven, de omringende faciliteiten, de gestrektheid van de hooglanden, de historie van de jacht, de aandacht voor detail met waardering voor eenvoud en originaliteit,… het is werkelijk prachtig in- en om “Letterewe”. Vanwege mijn werk bezoek ik veel prachtige locaties, maar “The Last Great Wilderness” is een absolute favoriet. Ik ben echt ontzettend onder de indruk van ‘Letterewe Estate’ met fascinerende Schotse historie en onaangetaste natuur eromheen.
Peter N

November 2018
Thank your for the truly amazing days! Letterewe is a beautiful and special place with amazing people! My friends and I felt very welcome and enjoyed every minute of your hospitality and efforts taken. Thank you very much !!!
Steven & friends

November 2018
Dear Barbara, thank you for all your help and for welcoming us to Letterewe last week. It was such a magical experience and you were absolutely right, we wouldn't have stayed anywhere but Carnnore. We're delighted with the photos and can't wait to show them to you.
Holland & Holland

October 2018
What an amazing week! We have had the most wonderful time. Thank you so much for your hospitality and making us feel so welcome. It really felt like we were staying with family. We would love to return for another week. We will keep you posted on our plans.
the Oldoryds

August 2018
Had, like always, a mighty fabulous time! Hope the rest of the season is as good as our time ! Love XO
The Gows, Hills, Tompkins, Phillips, Gale + Ed + Ed + James

August 2018
We want to thank you for allowing all of us to enjoy this most magical place in the world. The lodge is so lovely, and all the little details, flowers in the rooms. We are a very mixed group – 3 from Singapore, 1 from Melbourne, Australia, one from New Zealand (originally from Holland) and 8 from East Riding of Yorkshire, England. And each and everyone of us have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Special special thanks to Barbara for all the information of her patient answering of all our queries, to Andrew and Rory, Mark and Melanie for all their help in making the stay extra special. I hope to return sometime soon.
Mahen and family

July 2018
Ik wou u ook bedanken voor de fantastische tijd. Wij hebben ontzettend genoten. Dit huis is niet te beschrijven zo mooi. Het personeel heeft erg goed voor ons gezorgd. Het was een ervaring die ik niet had willen missen. Ik hoop ooit nog eens de kans te krijgen om terug te komen.
Marja Plessius, New Zealand, ex Amsterdam

July 2018
So beautiful. What an experience. The most amazing place, looked after so well. The staff were fabulous! Hope to return one day. Thank you all.
Sarah

July 2018
What a beautiful house, views and people. Campbell & Claire were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you so much
Helen, Scott, Sarah, David, Pascal & Jules

May 2018
We have had such an amazing time in this beautiful surrounding and house. We felt very well cared for. It was in the little details that we felt welcome like the bonfire with marsmellows, bathing products from the area, fresh flowers in each room and the guidance from William to the little cabin up in the mountains. A place that we would love to revisit. With love from The Netherlands.
Kiki, Mana, Floor, Olga, Fleur, Ariane, Mary

April 2018
We have just had the most spectacular couple of days in Letterewe. Thank you so much for allowing us to come and share in this little oasis of happiness. The crisp air and views from the top of the hills were more than we could have imagined and we have memories that will last for a long time. The lodge is as welcoming, amazing and comfortable as we could have imagined and we feel extremely well looked after. Thank you again for some halcyon days. We will look forward to seeing you again one day. Until then.
JDC

March 2018
Most places you visit, you are the one who does the traveling. But there are those few places, so special and so unique, that they actually transport you ..... to another time. Another world. A completely different state of mind. Letterewe is one of these most rare destinations. A place where the rugged and the untamed are paired with refined comforts. And while it might feel like a new experience, there is something strangely familiar about it. It feels ancestral. To go up the hill. To stalk. And to come back down to enjoy a fine single malt or two, a hearty game meal, warm by the fire ... mabye another whiskey perhaps. It's experience I think deep down we all crave, yet few have had the good fortune to have realized it.
Kyle Arango

October 2017
Thank you for a magical week at Letterewe. Plenty of “Hill” hikes, a very special walk to Carnmore. Loving the new Rose Marie. Fantastic family fun. Memories that will last a lifetime. Thank you to team Letterewe for making our stay so welcoming and comfortable….. we quite simply love this place. A unique wilderness and a feeling that Letterewe is in great hands. Thank you for letting the Hill family share in this magic place.
Hill family

August 2017
Fantastic days in this marvellous house with its outstanding surroundings. Two great walks, one to Loch Garbhaig and one to Fionn Loch. Unforgettable memory.
n.n.

July 2017
Many many thanks for looking after us so wonderfully at Letterewe during our wedding week. From our wedding ceremony on Gruinard Beach, to the hill walks, boat trips & kayaking on the loch, it has all been magical. We could not have dreamed for a more perfect place to celebrate. We already want to come back!
Cas, Mike And all the family

April 2017
There’s nothing quite like an escape to the Scottish Highlands. It’s eerie quiet, sobering mists and savage beauty routinely manifest themselves in daydreams across London’s Square mile.And if there were to be a particular spot in Scotland, a particular Loch, it would have to be Letterewe Estate. This great sporting estate, stretches over 17,500 hectares of breath-taking mountains and lochs, four deer forests, and remains uninterrupted by roads or any trappings of modern life. Home to pine martens, golden eagles, wild goats and some 2,000 red deer, Letterewe is known as the ‘last great wilderness of Scotland’.
Rosalyn Wikeley

Country and Town House - April 2017
Your Scottish Country Sports Adventure - The Scottish Highlands are home to the red deer living in their natural habitat among the wild, rugged hills and mountains. Red deer are the largest wild deer in the UK and one of our native species.
Linda Mellor

Eagle Review - March 2017
Housekeeping very good. Nice stalker (as well as his older colleague).
Christoph

September 2016
Fantastic Estate, what an experience. The boat-ride, the staff and the stalking all made for a truly magical experience.
JP

Amsterdam
We had a wonderful visit to Letterewe with my family. ``a real breath of fresh air!``
Nick

Brooklyn, NY USA
Do you go to the same estate each year? “I do. The estate is Letterewe, which is on the further side of Loch Maree. You can still only get to the house by boat. It has an old 1940s Clyde Police launch that chugs backwards and forwards and that is how you get across.
A.A. Gill

Shooting Gazette - July 2016